• How many continents on Earth?

    Igor Gorbatyuk
    Igor Gorbatyuk
    June 6, 2012
    How many continents on Earth?

    Before you deal with the topic, how many continents on the planet Earth, let's remember what a continent is. The continent is a large part of the land, which is washed by water from all sides. The question, in fact, is not as simple and obvious as it may seem at first glance. If you look on the Internet, then the views on how many continents on Earth differ significantly. We, answering this question, proceed from the general preparatory course of schools.

    Continents of the planet Earth:

    1. Eurasia;
    2. Africa;
    3. South America;
    4. North America;
    5. Antarctica;
    6. Australia.

    These are the six continents that were still described in the Great Soviet Encyclopedia.

    The ambiguity of this issue is due to the fact that, for example, North and South America are connected by a narrow isthmus of Panama. Many believe that thanks to this, the continent is one - America, which can be divided into two continents - North and South America. It is also the case with the continents of Eurasia, Africa.The fact is that they are also connected by the Suez Isthmus, so many now believe that they constitute one continent - Afro-Eurasia. In addition, the difficulty may lie in the fact that in some languages ​​the word continent and parts of the world are written in the same way.

    If we follow the classical view of such things, we traditionally distinguish those six continents that we have listed above.

    Related news

    Top 10 Best and Affordable Hotels in Dubai
    Where is Moscow
    Where to place the site
    Maple Leaf Application
    Rules for the use of salicylic acid acne
    Noodles in Odessa: gastronomic delight for real gourmets